A Day in the Life: Infant Edition

This is a cross post from Parker Haus Grows…. I love reading blogger’s day in the life posts. I wanted to capture a day while I am still home with Levi. With the help of my cell phone camera and the baby connect app here is one 24 hour period in the Parker Haus.

image

4:01 am:
Wake up for second nighttime feeding after a 4 hour stretch. The first sleep of the night was also a 4 hour stretch so I feel like I have won the lottery. The past week had been filled with wake every 2 hour nights. Matt gets up and feeds the kitties while I nurse for 19 minutes, put Levi back in the crib and fall back to sleep.

image

6:34 am:
Wake up for the day. Someone is very smiley this morning! While Matt is in the shower I nurse Levi (11 minutes). 

image

I shower and get ready while Matt gives Levi his medicine (Nystatin for a reoccurrence of thrush-ugh).

image

7:34 am:
Pack breakfast for Matt and take daily vitamins with glass of OJ… not really breakfast but it is something. Levi supervises from the comfort of his BebePod.

image

8:12 am:
We drop off Matt at work. Starbucks on the way. Levi falls asleep 5 minutes before we get to work.

image

He sleeps in his carseat for another half hour while I drive to my first appointment.

image

8:45 am:
We stop at the post office to mail the grandparents these adorable (double sided) photo blocks.

image

9:00 am:
I have a physical therapy appointment. Levi spends half of the appointment with me (sitting on my belly and nursing (14 minutes) and half the appointment with one of the physical therapists who offered to hold him.

image

10:20 am:
Diaper change on the tailgate of our Honda Element before we leave the PT office. I call to check on the time of the drop in breastfeeding clinic. It is at 11:30 and not too far away. I decide to kill some time and drop in. I have lots of questions about pumping and returning to work.

image

10:45 am:
Early lunch, drive-through because Levi has fallen asleep for nap number 2. Drive-through is a lifesaver with a sleeping baby in the car. I check social media while he naps for another half hour.

11:30 am:
The breastfeeding clinic is very helpful! I find out that the distracted nursing is normal for this stage, that he is crying while nursing when he is over simulated, and got lots of good info for going back to work.  He nurses only a little (less than 10 min) because the other babies are a bit distracting and falls asleep around noon, sleeping in my arms for 45 minutes while I talk with the lactation consultant.

image

1:09 pm:
Before we drive home I take advantage of the Dr office’s changing table for another diaper change.

image

1:40 pm:
We arrive home. What a busy morning! I go straight up stairs to nurse.

image

1:45 pm:
Levi is still a bit over simulated and has a hard time settling down to nurse. We nurse for about 15 minutes with lots of breaks to smile at mommy and chatter. Eventually I give up on the nursing and just snuggle him and have “conversations”.

image

2:17 pm:
I offer him the other side and he is much more focused with his nursing. A good 20 minutes of nursing. Cheese takes advantage of my reclined positron to perch on my hip and get some snuggles.

image

2:46 pm:
I strip him down to his diaper because he got warm in his sleeper. Minutes later he is out. Poor little guy was exhausted.

image

3:46 pm:
He is still sleeping. I start putting together this post while he sleeps.

image

5:15 pm:
Still sleeping but I have to go get Matt at work so I wake him up. Not a happy camper.
image

Levi gets a diaper change and a new outfit. I love the baby cargo pants! As soon as I took his diaper off though he started peeing again. Oh the joys of motherhood! When you have a little boy you get real good at deflecting the “open air accident”.
image

5:32 pm:
I called Matt to make sure he was ok with me picking him up late. Levi was quite hungry after a 2 hour 45 minute nap. He says to take my time.
image

5:45 pm:
The natives are restless. It has been over 12 hrs since Cheee and Hugo ate. Cheese is on a gain weight plan and Hugo is on a lose weight plan so they have to be fed separately. While I wait for Cheese to finish eating (under the crib because she “feels safer” from Hugo there) I start a load of cloth diapers. I do a cold rinse without any detergent first. Typically I wash diapers every other day.

image

image

6:30 pm: 
We pick up Matt at work which takes much longer than normal. I stop for gas and traffic is heavy due to rain. Yes you read that right, in Seattle drivers forget how to drive in the rain even though it does so frequently. It is raining hard which is unusual for Seattle and there is thunder which is a rarity in Seattle. One of the roads on my way is flooded so I have to take a detour. We have a Skype date at 7 with Matt’s parents so I text them to let them know we will be a little late. We have a little bit of a wait in the parking lot for Matt. Levi is fussy so I jump in the backseat and get him out of his car seat. What a ham! Matt drives home and I order sandwiches and salad from our favorite pizza joint.
image

7:20 pm:
Levi shows off his bebepod skills in our weekly Skype date with my in-laws. He hasn’t gotten the hang of the Skype screen and is mostly interested in the thumbnail that shows our video. What can I say, my kiddo likes to look at himself! Skype dates are really nice ways for my in-laws to see how he is growing and changing.
image

7:45 pm:
Levi nurses then gets a diaper change while I run the diapers through a warm wash cycle. This is likely the last diaper change before he goes to bed so I put him in a disposable. Usually he gets a double stuffed cloth diaper for overnight but my overnights had to be replaced by the manufacturer so we are currently without cloth for overnight.
image

8:45 pm:
Matt and I enjoy a very late dinner. We take turns eating while the other snuggles and rocks Levi.
image

9:00 pm:
I nurse Levi one last time before he falls asleep for the night. While I am nursing Matt runs the diapers through a final warm rinse. He transfers a sleeping Levi to his crib at the foot of our bed. We spend an hour or so catching up before turning in for the night at 10:30.

What a busy day! Some parts were typical and others were definitely not normal (hello, super late dinner!). I am glad I took the time to document this stage in our lives.  Things are about to change in a few weeks when I go back to work. EEEP!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

