DIY Modern Mobile

 

 

This post is cross-posted from Parker Haus Grows.
mobile-imp

When I began to look at mobiles for our nursery  I was pretty discouraged with how expensive modern mobile options were.  This modern felt ball mobile was listed for $80 and I couldn’t help but think that I could make my own for less.  I was right, my supplies came to approximately $30. (less if you can purchase the individual felt balls- I had to purchase in bulk to get the colors/sizes that I wanted). When I finally took the time to sit down and put the mobile together it was surprisingly easy.

supplies-imp

Supplies:

  • (8-10) 1 cm felt balls in desired colors- I did 2 each of red, aqua, green, and grey 
  • (8-10) 1.5 cm felt balls in desired colors- I did 2 each of red, aqua, green, and grey
  • (8-10) 2 cm felt balls in desired colors- I did 2 each of red, aqua, green, and grey
  • (8-10) 3 cm felt balls in desired colors- I did 2 each of red, aqua, green, and grey
  • Small beads either in clear or colors that match your felt balls
  • Clear thread
  • Needle
  • Scissors
  • Wee Gallery Mobile frame
  • Optional- photos or card stock shapes to hang from center clips.

Before I started I removed the hanging clips from the frames (except for two clips in the center) using small pliers.

bead_ball-imp

    1. Thread a length of thread through the needle and tied the ends together making a double strand.  Thread the needle through a bead and secure it by passing the needle through the end of the double thread and then pass it through the bead from bottom to top  
    2. Thread a 3 cm ball
    3. Then thread another bead on the needle and passed the needle through the bead again from bottom to top (creating a loop around the bead)
    4. Thread a 2 cm ball
    5. Repeat the process with a 1.5 cm ball and a 1 cm ball
    6. Arrange the beads and balls on the strand as depicted below
    7. Attach the strand to the wire frame with a square knot
    8. Repeat for each loop on the frame

strand-imp

I am quite pleased with the result! Hopefully Blobby is as captivated with the mobile as his/her mommy is!finished-imp

amy_red

Leave a comment

Filed under She Crafts, We Grow

Leave a Reply

