Christmas Odds and Ends

Last year we didn’t decorate the house for Christmas and it made me sad. We were traveling to Indiana for Christmas and it didn’t seem to make sense to get the decorations out and up. I won’t make that mistake again. I think there is something about having visual reminders as we prepare for Christmas and the birth of Christ.

We decided against getting a tree this year. We fear Hugo would topple the tree within a matter of minutes. No need to tempt a mischievous kitten. Without the tree which usually is the focal point of our decorations I had to get creative, and a little crafty.

image
Top left: I wrapped the our canvas like presents and attached a giant bow. Christmas cards are displayed with clothes pins on red ribbon.

Top right: The fireplace mantle became the focal point this year. I love the huge wreath that we found at Hobby Lobby. I have some lights to add to it but haven’t gotten that far yet.

Bottom left: I painted Cardboard letters to spell NOEL between festive family candle sticks.

Bottom right: Our advent wreath would get more use if we actually ate at home. Cooking fail!

image

Top left: I saw this trick on Pinterst, use a curtain rod suspended between two stocking holders to minimize the “clutter” on your mantle. 2 stocking holders vs 4 the traditional way.

Top right: We couldn’t go without a tree entirely. I crafted this one using a painted wood base, styrofoam cone, lots of leaf shapes cut from cardstock, and whole lot of mod podge. I needed something for the top and this never used cat toy fit the bill.

Bottom left: This gnome candle holder was my favorite growing up. I can’t help but smile every time I see him.

Bottom right: I dressed up the a milk glass vase with some silk flowers and red and gold “berries” My grandma always had nutcrackers on the mantle. This was one of hers.

It isn’t a lot but its enough holiday decor to get me in the Christmas spirit.

Amy_red

2 Comments

Filed under She Crafts

2 responses to “Christmas Odds and Ends

  1. I LOVE IT! You are so creative and these are sooooooo festive and cute!

  2. Haha, that gnome is too cute! I never thought of having advent candles at home, that’s pretty cool, i’ve only seen them at church.

Leave a Reply

