Kitty Prayers

747dash8 003-imp

I am home sick today- sick in the I’m having trouble breathing/coughing and I don’t want to infect my co-workers  kind of way. But I can’t sleep. My normal sick day buddy isn’t curled up next to me. This morning we took Cassanova to the vet for the second time in 5 days. My little guy isn’t doing good and my heart is breaking. Our Vet is running tests, hydrating, and hopefully forcing him to eat while I am puttering around the house with a box of kleenex.

Up until a couple of months ago you would never know Cassanova is 15 years old. I got him at 6 months old in February 1998 as a junior in college.  He has been my sidekick through the ups and downs. He’s moved from Indiana to Denver, back to Indiana then to Phoenix and back to Indiana. He lost his companion Cleo in Wisconsin and picked up his new buddy Cheese. He enjoyed Atlanta before finally settling in to our home in Washington. He is a cat who thinks he’s a human, or at the very least, a dog. He is fiercely affectionate and full of energy. He loves his humans so much that he has always waited up for me (or us) to get home and keeps watch when I am sick.  His loud purr is a constant sound in our house.

cass-imp

Earlier this year he lost his bottom right canine- the first signs that he is getting old.  A couple of months ago I noticed him eating lots and running around like a crazy cat.  I suspected hyperthyroid and was right.  We got him on thyroid medicine (I am hypo-thyroid so Matt gives him the meds) but he really hates the pills so we had the medicine compounded into a cream that we rub on the inside of his ear.  Slowly over the past few months he has gotten really skinny.  It was hard for us to notice because we see him every day but my Dad noticed when he came to visit for memorial day weekend.  Slowly he has gotten lethargic and seems depressed. He spends all his time on our bed and doesn’t move much.

We took him in last Thursday because we noticed he was hardly eating anything.  He also had some wheezing when we would pick him up/put him down.  The vet noted that even though his weight hasn’t changed much since the appointment where she diagnosed his hyperthyroid that he has lost a lot of muscle mass in his hind quarters.  She suspected he might have a low-grade sinus infection so she gave him an antibiotic injection (lasts 2 weeks).

I had changed his food weeks earlier and we suspected he wasn’t a fan of the new flavor. We bought the old flavor and when I opened the bag he was very interested. He ate a couple bites and came back later for a few more bites. We were encouraged, however, over the weekend he never ate more than a few bites at a time and he continued to get weaker and weaker.  He turned his nose up at chicken and milk- that never happens. He doesn’t purr anymore. This morning when I put him down from holding him he fell over.  My heart broke.

We dropped him off at the vet as soon as they opened. When Doc saw me walk through the door her heart sank.  They are running blood tests and giving him IV fluids.  I think they are going to try to force him to eat.  For years my biggest fear has been losing him, I would tear up just thinking about it. Now its staring me in the face.

In a couple of months he will be 16, please buddy, help us figure out what is wrong.  I’m selfish and I want a few more years with you.

If you can spare some prayers for a cat today- I would really appreciate it.

 

:::Edited 2:49 Monday:::

The vet called to say his blood work looks great.  They gave him IV fluids and he has been eating a bit.  They gave him 5 different kinds of wet food and he eat some of 3 of them. They are keeping him overnight. Still no word what may have caused this or what is going on. 😦

6 Comments

Filed under Musings

6 responses to “Kitty Prayers

  1. Oh Amy. My heart breaks for you. Come on, Cassanova, you can do it, Kitty-Love. Strong hugs and crossed fingers for you guys, Amy.

  2. Aww, Amy – this is such a hard thing to go through. Thinking of you guys and praying for a kitty recovery!

  3. Holley

    Oh my heart goes out to you. It is so hard seeing a cat you love suffer. I hope Casanova pulls through and has a few good years left in him!

  4. Keeping fingers crossed for you x

  5. Oh no! I hope Cassanova’s health stars improving. Thinking of you and sending much kitty juju your way!

  6. Laura S.

    Thinking of you all.

Leave a Reply

