PSA: Don’t Be a Crappy Friend (like me)

For most of 2012 (maybe some of 2011 if we are being honest) I have been a crappy friend.  No, really I have and I own it. Unfortunately this means my husband is guilty by association and together we’ve been crappy friends to our peeps near and far.   We’ve missed kid’s football games, engagements, birthdays, almost whole pregnancies for strategically vague reasons I mentioned previously (i.e. I really don’t want to discuss it IRL or online).

This week I had a long over due phone call with my best friend.  She lives in the midwest and sadly we’ve never developed a good online way of keeping in touch on a regular basis.  Life is busy and with a 3 hour time difference the time between phone calls has gotten longer and longer.  Talking with her this week was the greatest gift I could have been given.  I felt connected, loved, and understood. It felt like she was just around the corner and I miss her so much. I left the conversation feeling uplifted and like the world had returned to normal- if only for a short time.

Amy & Matt RCPT 478 cp

Photo: Amore Studios

Yes, she knows me the best- but there are wonderful people in our lives here in Seattle that know me too.  People who we’ve neglected as friends. Friends I hope who still want to be friends despite my self-imposed social hiatus.  This summer we’re really making an effort to reconnect and to put my discomfort in social situations aside. I know small get togethers are best for me but I need to put on my big girl panties and figure out how to be social in a larger group setting too.

This post is incredibly self-indulgent- just a brain dump of where I am at on  paper the screen- a follow-up to my last post.  Still not 100% but working my way about of that aforementioned funk.

I don’t want to misrepresent 2012- we’ve had some amazing adventures with friends and family.  After a couple of self-absorbed posts I’m ready to recap our Austin, Colorado, and Seattle adventures with friends and family.  Coming up next, eating like a Hobbit in Austin!

3 Comments

Filed under Musings

3 responses to “PSA: Don’t Be a Crappy Friend (like me)

  1. PSA: Sometimes being a crappy friend is the best thing you can do for yourself at certain times in your life. Real true friends will understand it and welcome you back with perhaps a “Really, douchebag? I thought you died.” and then let that be that. That said, I HAVE been a shitty friend all year. Haha. 🙂

  2. Laura S.

    ❤ I'm still here, el guapo!

  3. Pingback: Rewind: Orcas! | Parker Haus Roles

Leave a Reply

