Warm up with a Bourbon Furnace

furnace

This winter has been relatively mild in Seattle, nonetheless, I always love a good warm drink.  Warm drink with alcohol, even better!  I recently discovered the bourbon furnace and it’s become my 2012 winter cocktail.  You could dress it up with cloves and cinnamon, but I prefer the simplicity of lemon.  When it comes to bourbon, most people think of Maker’s Mark. While I do like Maker’s Mark, I’ve become a big a fan of Woodford Reserve Craft Bourbon. Yum.

bourbonfurnace

 

What is your favorite winter cocktail?

Bourbon Furnace

  • Apple Cider
  • 1 shot bourbon per serving
  • 1 lemon wedge per serving

Heat apple cider on stove or in microwave. Pour into coffee mugs, add bourbon and garnish with lemon. Enjoy by the fire.

4 Comments

Filed under We Cook

4 responses to “Warm up with a Bourbon Furnace

  1. I love mulled wine. We didn’t do it this year though. 😦

  2. Twice this holiday season a friend brought over a crock of Hot Buttered Rum and, oh, was it delicious. It’s best for parties as to develop the whole rich flavor it really does need 2-4 hours of slow heat but it’s so very worth it.

    We’re not much on Bourbon but I picked up a bottle of Tennessee Honey for a cocktail I was designing and both Todd and I decided that we could get to like Bourbon if it was all like that!

  3. I tried this sans lemon and LOVE it! It’s my new favorite winter drink- thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

