Christmas Paper Crafting

Christmas is coming and gifts wrapped in pretty packages are arriving under the tree. Well, not really under our tree- we don’t have one this year but that is a story for another day.  But this is the season of pretty packages.  I love wrapping gifts and DIYing  pretty packages.  My aesthetic is pretty simple and I try hard to work with the materials I already have on hand.  This year (with the help of my silhouette machine) I used bakers twine, card-stock, stamps, and wrapping paper left over from last year to create pretty packages.

IMGP6072

My raw materials.  Bakers twine in green, cardstock in grey, green, red, and gold.

gift cards

Gift cards deserve pretty packages too!  I printed a peppermint stripe on the tabbed gift card holder and cut out a library envelope in red.  Names were stamped on tags in green ink and tied up with twine.

IMGP6068

In stead of adding depth of a package with a bow what about adding dimension with the tag?  The tag doesn’t have to be flat!  Aren’t these 3-D tags adorable?

tagdetail

I prefer to design and print my tags (with the silhouette machine), so much prettier than my handwriting.  On the right are kraft paper gingerbread ornaments.  We have to ship many of our gifts and I liked that these ornaments are comprised of two flat circles.  I placed them flat in the box with instructions for assembly. Instant ornament!

tree

Ok, about that tree.   It’s been making me a wee bit sad that our house doesn’t “feel” like the holidays. After all my tags were done I decided to craft us a tiny tree.  Two pieces of green card-stock, a sheet of kraft paper, a dowel, and a sparkly poof make a pretty cute tree if I do say so my self.

How do you use everyday items to make your packages pretty?

Silhouette shapes used in this post:

  • christmas light tag 3d by Loni Harris
  • christmas tree tag 3d by Loni Harris
  • bell tag 3d by Loni Harris
  • star tag 3d by Loni Harris
  • 3d christmas ornament-gingerbread boy by Alaa’ K
  • 3d christmas ornament-gingerbread girl by Alaa’ K
  • library pocket & gift card holder by Lori Whitlock
  • peppermint stripe pattern by Lori Whitlock
  • 3-d christmas tree by Lori Whitlock
10 Comments

Filed under She Crafts

10 responses to “Christmas Paper Crafting

  1. OMG I love your wrapping! I may attempt to make 3-d gift tags now 😀

  2. Uwahhh..why don’t I have one of those machines yet?! Your 3d stuff is so cute!

  3. That tree is ADORABLE. I wish I had the time and patience to do some crafting like yours!

  4. Every time I see your crafts with the silhouette, I think I need to buy one! Very cute.

  5. I love all of this! The tree is especially adorable!

  6. That’s amazing. I wouldn’t even know where to begin with those paper crafts

  7. Pingback: Christmas Paper Crafting II | Parker Haus Roles

  8. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a
    very easy on the eyes which makes it much
    more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

Leave a Reply

