Tea Party Picnic Portraits

I would be wise to never again schedule three out-of-town trips and one out-of-town guest within 5 weeks of each other. If you are counting, that is one “free” weekend in 5 weeks.  About half-way through and I am exhausted, absolutely exhausted. Thankfully this weekend is our “free” weekend before taking our last trip and then we are home until Christmas. YAY!  I’m trying to get back into my normal rhythm and that means getting back into blogging as this here blog has been woefully quiet in the past weeks. I’m taking a break from Rome posts for a bit, but I promise to finish them up before the end of the year. Time to go back to early September when it was still summer in Seattle.

I don’t fancy myself a photographer, at best I am a photo enthusiast. Matt bought me a DSLR for our wedding and I have spent the past year teaching myself to use it. I love to practice at any opportunity I get.  This past September I had such an opportunity.  A friend of mine really liked a photo I had taken of her daughter at a baby shower. I had an enlargement of the photo made and she was so pleased.  She mentioned that she didn’t have any photos of herself with her daughter so I volunteered to take some photos of them.  I decided to rent a 77mm lens because most of my lenses are wider angled (16-45mm; 30mm; 18-55mm, 50mm, 28mm).  I rented from CameraLensRentals.com and I was really pleased with both the service and with the lens.  I’ve been eying something in the 80mm range and the Pentax 77mm f/1.8 Limited smcP-FA was great to try out. We agreed to meet at a local park and I packed a picnic lunch.

IMGP5175

My friend (on the left ) brought her step-sister  (on the right) to help out with little Miss C. She had lots of fun with her Auntie.

auntie

And running barefoot in the park.  It was September 10th and the flag at half mast caught her eye.

run

I picked up some fresh dahlias that morning.  Miss C loved the pink ones (not so much the red ones!)

flowers2

flower

She made sure her Mom and Auntie each had a flower.

givflowers

IMGP5190

I love how my friend and her step-sister have complimentary outfits and how your eye instantly goes to Miss C’s yellow dress.

walk

I was able to take some nice photos of my friend’s step-sister. She is a junior in high school and I just found out that her mom had these printed like school pictures to give out instead of the ones she had taken at school. *color me flattered*

maggie

Miss C was a little whirlwind, running all around but I was able to catch a quiet moment with mom.

chelsea chelsea2

I wanted to be sure I had something that all three of them could do together so I picked up a tea pot and cups from Goodwill. I absolutely adore the pattern on the cups and they were the perfect size for little hands. Miss C held her own tea party in the park!

IMGP5428

tea

IMGP5274

My friend was surprised how much fun little Miss C had with the tea set and was going to pick one up for her the next week.  I’m a fan of just getting some fun cups from Goodwill myself.tattoo

I noticed some new ink on my friend’s shoulder.  “Born to Survive” – how fitting.  She is such a beautiful person, inside and out and has remained so throughout trying times. It was an absolute pleasure to practice my photography skills with her

IMGP5598

It was very easy to “style” this shoot for under $20.

  • Picnic “blanket” (in reality it is a curtain panel) from goodwill $2.50
  • Pair of tea cups and saucers from goodwill $5.00
  • Teapot from goodwill $3.50
  • Gold Charger from goodwill $1.50
  • Vintage canning jar (my collection)
  • Dahlia bouquet $5.00
  • Bananas and oranges from my fruit bowl
  • Mason Jar glasses from our housewarming
After this published my SIL sent me a great link and a reminder that antique teacups and teapots might contain lead glazing.  Be sure to test before drinking out of them or giving them to small children to play with.
3 Comments

Filed under She Shoots

3 responses to “Tea Party Picnic Portraits

  1. awww, little girl in her yellow dress is so cute! You did a great job! And everyone looks like they’re having fun 🙂

    Also, your high schooler pic totally works better than the typical stuffy school portrait, imo!

  2. Love these! You did a great job…and what great validation that the step-sister used the shots as her high school photos!

Leave a Reply

