Fitting In Family

Labor day weekend we traveled to Chicago for a wedding.  It’s really a sweet story; the couple met at a wedding just 3 years earlier when the Nicole’s sister married the Paul’s friend.  My husband was sharing a hotel room with Paul and was a third wheel of sorts after the reception was over.  Much to Paul’s chagrin he hung out with the two as they took the after-party to the streets of Chicago and got to know each other. They dated long distance and got engaged this past NYE.  They got married on labor day weekend, the same weekend that they met 3 years earlier.

We were very much looking forward to a weekend getaway to Chicago but didn’t have any firm plans besides the wedding on Sunday afternoon.  In hindsight our lack of planning was fortuitous.  As I mentioned we are in the midst of Babypalooza 2012.  August 30th Matt’s baby brother and our SIL became parents for the first time, welcoming our niece into the world.  With the help of Matt’s sister (who is 8 months pregnant!) we were able to make a last-minute day trip to Indiana to meet our Niece.  My SIL picked us up at the airport (after a red-eye) and drove 4 hrs to Indiana.  We wouldn’t have been able to do that drive after a red-eye flight without her.

firsttimedad

My BIL, the proud papa was so excited that we were able to make the trip.  As babies do, my niece napped for most of the visit.

IMGP5060

One of a few photos of me holding my niece.  I spent most of our visit knitting.  I started a “5 hr baby sweater” for my niece that morning.  5 hrs my a$$- more like 7 or 8 hr sweater!  I did finish it in the nick of time to gift to the new parents but forgot to take a photo *knitter fail*.  I will rectify that next month when we return for her baptism.

goddaughter

They make the cutest faces don’t they?  Matt had a great time holding his god-daughter, he kinda hogged her but he gets a pass as Godfather.

auntie

Matt’s brother (the baby’s dad) and sister (pictured above) are twins.  I really think there is a special bond between the two of them as twins and I loved watching my SIL hold her niece.  In just a few weeks my SIL will be welcoming her second boy.  These cousins will be so blessed to be close in age.

We came at a hard time when baby and mom were having their first challenges with breastfeeding.  Its got to be hard to have guests in the house when you are figuring all of this out so we scooted over to my in-laws house to get out-of-the-way and give them space.

IMGP5074

After dinner and some hugs we were back on the road headed back to Chicago to check into our hotel.

On the tail end of our trip some tentative plans we had with friends fell through and we ended up spending most of Monday with my SIL, BIL, and nephew.  We hadn’t seen my nephew since Thanksgiving of last year so we were excited to interact with the little guy.

IMGP5099

We took the metro to Evanston and had breakfast at Walker Brothers Pancake House. One word: YUM. After a huge breakfast we walked around Northwestern University.

IMGP5122

The campus was a ghost town because of  the holiday weekend and we found a nice green space with a beautiful willow tree to play for a while.  I really wanted to get photos of my SIL, BIL, and Nephew before baby number two arrives.  Above is my favorite photo from the day.

willow

I am really glad that we got to spend the day with family.  My nephew takes a while to warm up to people and we have only seen him a handful of times since he was born.  It took a couple of hours of being around him but he really opened up to us and had lots of fun.  I am not sure if that would have been possible if we had seen him at a large family gathering.  The one on one time is so important. On a funny note, I also discovered that my Matt love to chase toddlers.  What a goofball!

chase1

chase2

Visits with family weren’t on the agenda when we planned our Chicago trip but it ended up to be such a special time.  As my SIL dropped us off at the Metro Station she asked us to be Godparents to baby #2 and that was the icing on the cake.  We are so honored and can’t wait to see all the kiddos again next month.

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

4 responses to “Fitting In Family

  1. I like to think I’m a fast knitter and then I try to do something like knit a dishcloth in an hour and it ends up taking 3-4. Congrats on the Godparents! I’m sure you will make great ones.

  2. Adorable ADORABLE pics!!!!!!

    I crochet a lot more than knitting because it’s a lot faster than knitting. But if the pattern is written poorly it sucks cuz you’re halfway through and it’s like… WHAT THE HECK?? I spent all this time making it and it doesn’t look right. Well, that’s my experience with patterns hehe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

