Silhouette Demo

Last night a friend  texted me to ask about my Silhouette Machine’s features and if she should buy one.  Text message wasn’t the best way for me to answer her questions so I sent her my short answer. “I love it & buy it!”  Today I busted out the video camera and make a not-so-short tutorial showing her all the features that I wanted to tell her about.  Lucky you guys, I made a sharable tutorial for you too.

My friend was specifically interested in the print and cut feature and how the Silhouette Machine is different from the Cricut machine. Forgive my quick typing skills- I have a typo in my tutorial because I was more focused on creating the tutorial than I was on proofing my project. The video is rather long, but it does give a good end to end preview of the machine and its capabilities.

I use my Silhouette for lots of crafting and household projects. You might remember that I mentioned that I cut out the days of the week in vinyl for our household calendar. But that is just the beginning of the projects I’ve done with this machine.

Placecards

Yay Flags (photo by Amore Studios)

Envelope Liner and Belly Band buckle

Program Covers (photo by Amore Studios)

Fun gift cards

 

Favor Boxes with leaf

Sign and easel

 

You can view a comparison of the features of the Cricut and the Silhouette here.  If this piqued your interest you might want to check out the The Silhouette blog where Silhouette designers feature project ideas, tutorials and the weekly free shape of the week.  I have been swooning over this project idea using little Miss Sunshine since it was posted on the blog this past week.

Via The Silhouette Blog

If you have any questions on the tutorial, please email me, or leave them in the comments.

2 Comments

Filed under DIY

2 responses to “Silhouette Demo

  1. Too cool! I used a coworker’s Cricut to do out tags for our OOT bags, but your machine looks so much more simple! There is probably a snowball’s chance that I would be able to talk my husband into letting me get one, but it’s definitely on a wish list!

  2. I’m still trying to talk myself into one of these. I want but then I have to convince myself I would use it often.

Leave a Reply

