Christmas Odds & Ends

I was very good about documenting Christmas Eve, but by the time Christmas came I was a wee bit lazy behind the lens.  We have a few odds and ends to share.

Santa Kitty Cassanova didn’t instantly try to rip his festive ensemble off, although he was visually pissed that I dressed him up. I didn’t dare put Cheese’s reindeer costume on her, as she was particularly moody on Christmas after her trip to the vet the day before.

I had teased Matt for almost a month about the super cool gift I had gotten him. I was dying to have him open it. It was wrapped with left over craft paper and bakers twine. I made the take-out box and tags with my Silhouette Machine.

Thanks to a tweet from Geek In Heels (I think) i had stumbled upon Mint In Box’s instructions for building your own Lego Death Star Christmas Ornament.  His instructions include a pick list for all the parts that you will need to order from the Lego Store’s Pick a Brick section.

I sent the PDF instructions to the local Kinkos for printing and binding. Or so I thought.  When they called me to tell me my order was done I realized that the order was sent to the University Kinkos- a good 20 minutes away.  Not wanting to drive all that way in rush hour traffic I asked if they could send the order to the store closer to me.  When the employee learned where we lived he offered to meet me at my local grocery store.  Apparently he lives in the ‘burbs too and was going grocery shopping after work.  He also told me that the whole store had been ohhing and ahhing over my gift- dubbing it “the coolest gift ever”. WOOT!  So we went to the grocery store, I sent Matt off to the far corner of the store and in a very cloak and dagger moment the Kinkos employee slipped me my bound ornament assembly instructions.

My two favorite gifts.  My dad bought me a kindle. Feeling a little Star Wars nostalgia, the first book I downloaded was Carrie Fisher’s Wishful Drinking. I am in love with this necklace in the shape of my home state New Hampshire.  Matt scored this on etsy from alter designs.

Italy and travel was the theme of my mom’s gifts for us this year.  We’re planning a spring trip to Rome and she wanted to make sure we were properly prepared.  In addition to travel books and this beautiful wall calendar she also outfitted us with very practical (and thoughtful) gifts like travel umbrellas, security belt wallets, and sleep masks.

I am testing out the inflatable foot rest she thoughtfully picked up for me.  As it is, my feet don’t touch the floor in airplane seats (i’m a shorty) and the pressure on the back of my legs causes them to swell when I travel.  This situation also puts me at a higher risk for blood clots.  Needless to say, the footrest will be helpful on our 8+ hr flight to europe.

I love this photo of my mom.  I am so glad she spent both Christmas Eve and Christmas day with us.

Yum!  Dinner was a collective effort (as it always is in our house)  Mom made Blue Hubbard Squash and brussel sprouts.  I fixed a root vegetable gratin and Matt made the apple stuffed pork loin.

Our first Christmas as husband and wife was perfectly relaxed and chill. I would be lying if i said it wasn’t a little bittersweet too. It was the first Christmas that Matt hasn’t spent with his family. We did a skype session with his family after dinner where we opened gifts and chatted with everyone back in Indiana.  It wasn’t the same, but I think it did help.

Today, Matt and I are taking down the Christmas tree (we leave it up until after the Epiphany– a tradition in both our families) and I’m a bit sad to see all our decorations get packed up.  We got a late start this year but we have loved blending our family traditions and creating our own new ones.

May the joy of the Christmas season live in your heart throughout the year.

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Life

One response to “Christmas Odds & Ends

  1. Oh my gosh! Kitty in the Santa suit is so freaking funny!!!!

Leave a Reply

